The altar

I have sacrificed my life
On the altar of convenience.

Whatever I wanted
It had to be instant,
Too lazy to wait
Too busy to try,
I wanted
Fast food, fast music, fast sex.

Now it’s too late to change,
The quick hits
And slow traffic
Have shortened my life.

Death rears up,
He’s in my face,
Now there’s nowhere to go,
Couldn’t move if I tried.

I can no longer pretend
I didn’t comprehend
I was wasting my time
In fast food and worse wine.

Yet my friends still bleat
Over my dying breaths,
As if I’d treated myself
With a life of ease and debts,
They praise my determination
To waste every moment I had
In parties, cheap novels, and dull romance.

“Oh, how you sacrificed your life
On the altar of convenience!”

Leave a Reply

